top of page

You can now subscribe to my email newsletter to see my attempts at the weekly Flash-Fiction Challenges and more!  Try each challenge to hone your skills as a writer!  These challenges are not for the faint of heart (but they aren't hard either!)  

  • Writer's pictureChristy Mann

A flash fiction challenge to write a blog post. Are you up for it?

Hiya everyone! It’s been a crazy week. The relaunch of Fogyoyle 1-3 has taken off, the party is scheduled for this coming Friday, July 13th, 2018, and Death of a Secret is right around the corner. I’ve got blog posts going all over the place trying to help spread the word. It’s exciting times, but it’s also stressful and I’m a little bit behind schedule. A lot of things are still in transition and there is a lot more to come.


This week’s challenge is going to be an exercise for me for sure. I’ve been writing blogs posts for a while now. Consistently for about a month. It’s hard work, and I’ll want to literally choke anyone that says it isn’t. It is for me. It got a lot easier when I finally figured out a single subject I wanted to write them about.


If you read back through my posts, they were all over the place. I wanted to do something weekly from the beach. I wanted to do a weekly book review to share other authors with great books that I’d read that week. I wanted to share the things that were going on in my life with you guys, and all kinds of other things.


It wasn’t until I stopped and gave a good long thought about what I could provide that would be helpful to you guys that I figured it out and things turned around. Now, with these weekly Flash Fiction Challenges, I can provide you with things that make a difference. I don’t expect them to change the world, but I do hope that they help you become the writer you have always wanted to be.


That is what led me to this week’s challenge. As writers, one of the biggest things we can do to help keep our reader’s attention between book releases, is create and manage a blog. It can be about anything, but to really make it effective, it needs to be about something that will hold your reader’s interest. Something useful is the best. Sure, readers will enjoy hearing about your grandma, and your cat’s latest antics, but those things are hard to come up with every week in the hustle and bustle of life.


With that in mind, I chose a blog post as this week’s challenge. Yep. You are going to write a blog post. You can kick the ground and harrumph all you want to, but this could be the best and most useful challenge yet.


The goal is to write a how-to blog post. You might be scratching your head, wondering how this is a flash fiction challenge, but hear me out. Remember the lawnmower review? Yeah, this is a lot like that. The items to be included in the challenge are less random, but more common enough to make the blog easy to write. There are tons of things that you can teach someone to do with a hammer. The challenge will be in including the color red, and the smell of roses.


You can do this! I have faith in you! You believed in Santa Clause for 8-10 years. Surely, you can believe in yourself for 20 minutes and pull this off. I assure you, the sense of accomplishment you will get from it is worth it!


Give it a try.


Write a 300 word “How-to” blog post.

Include a hammer, the color red, and the smell of roses

You have 20 minutes. Go!



I’m so looking forward to seeing what you all come up with. Drop your attempts in the comments! As always, my submission for the challenge will be in this week’s newsletter on Friday. I look forward to seeing you there!

Happy Writing!

Christy 😊

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page