top of page

You can now subscribe to my email newsletter to see my attempts at the weekly Flash-Fiction Challenges and more!  Try each challenge to hone your skills as a writer!  These challenges are not for the faint of heart (but they aren't hard either!)  

  • Writer's pictureChristy Mann

A fun review writing exercise

Hey guys! This week’s challenge is going to be an fun little exercise in not just writing with intent, but writing with a very specific intent. Namely, product reviews. There is a real market out there for writing this type of stuff. Books and other products on Amazon and tons of other places are always looking for people to write reviews for their products. If you are, or are planning on doing any freelance writing, product reviews can become a lucrative option if you can crank out enough of them in short periods of time. I struggled pretty bad with that when I was trying to get into freelance writing.


It’s a great option and fairly easy work if you enjoy it, I just had a hard time writing what other people wanted because I wanted to spend my time writing my own stuff. I don’t endorse or review products that I’ve never used, and I don’t request a bunch of products just to try them out so I can write reviews either. They were necessary though, especially as I got deeper into writing and publishing books.


You see, part of being an author means having lots of friends who are also authors. It’s great. I’ve met some really amazing people on my journey, and I’m meeting more of them every day. It not only adds to my list of great books to be read, but it also means writing book reviews.

Now that I’m published, I’ve learned first hand how important reviews of books really are. I read them regularly now to make decisions before buying, but I also write them, and I try to write them in ways that are helpful. You know, one’s that explain a little bit about why you should read this book, not just give it a number of star ratings. It gets returned. Not every time, but often enough to make a difference.


That being said, I wanted to steer away from horror writing for a bit and go with something fun and funny, as well as challenging. I want to challenge you to step out of your comfort zone a little bit and write a review.


Here’s the challenge.


Write a 200 word (no more, no less) 4 star product review of a lawnmower.

Try to include, a pickle, the neighbor’s socks, and the smell of bricks.


Now, you can make up the name/type/size of the lawnmower. That really isn’t important at all. I want to see how you work the elements together to form a review that makes sense, reads like an actual review, but creates a really funny story.


I’m so looking forward to seeing what you all come up with. As always, my submission for the challenge will be in this week’s newsletter. I look forward to seeing you there!

Happy Writing!

Christy 😊


3 views0 comments
bottom of page